Loading Events

Journey to Success Speed Mentoring – London

20/11/2014 @ 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

  • This event has passed.

[section bgcolor=”#f9f9f9″ bgimage=”IMAGEURL” parallax=”true” padding=”20px 0″ border=”0px solid #ececec”]

IABSE Speed Mentoring


The British Group of IABSE is delighted to announce a novel speed-mentoring event: Journey to Success 3. The event will be held on the 20th of November at WSP House in London and it aims to guide young designers in their early careers. In the current fast-moving industry, many young designers feel they cannot discuss career options with senior designers in their companies, and this event aims to fill this gap. JtS3 will gather 25 experienced and 25 young designers together to discuss career recommendations and opportunities.

The event will be divided into 4 different sessions, 15 minutes each, in which delegates will have the opportunity to discuss career recommendations individually with one mentor in each session. Hence, each delegate will meet with 4 different mentors. The event aims to be informal, with drinks and food served during and after the event. The mentorship sessions will be followed by networking.

To participate in the event you will need to register below – if you have any preferences to be assigned with a particular mentor, please submit your preferences to events@iabse.org.uk. Mentors will be assigned in a first-send, first-served basis; otherwise, mentors will be assigned randomly.



– George Adams, UK Engineering Director, Spie

– Mark Bulmer, Technical Director, Aecom

– Chris Burgoyne, Head of Structures Group, University of Cambridge

– Tim Burton, Sales and Marketing Manager, SH Structures

– Adrian Campbell, Associate Director, Arup

– John Cutlack, Independent Consultant, Flint&Neill

– Bedanuj Dasgupta, Principle Infrastructure Engineer, WSP

– Ian Firth, Chief Operating Officer, Flint&Neill

– Lee Franck, Chartered Structural Engineer, Arup

– Chris Gosden, Associate Structural Engineer, WSP

– Leigh C Jones, (retired) Atkins

– Angus Low, Director, Arup

– Tim Lucas, Partner, Price and Myers

– Fergus McCormick, Techinical Director, Buro Happold

– Chelvi Navaratnaraja, Mott MacDonald

– Robin Nicholson, Senior Practice Partner, Culinan Studio

– Julia Ratcliffe, Director, Expedition

– Alex Reddihough, Structural Engineer, Arup

– Simon Roberts, Associate, Wilkinson Eyre Architects

– Stuart Smith, Director, Arup

– Nina Tabink, Structural Engineer, Arup

– Jeff Young, Mott MacDonald

– Chris Walker, Principle Engineer, Flint&Neill

– Mark Whitby, Chairman, Design Director, Whitby & Mohajer

– Pete Winslow, Senior Engineer, Expedition Engineering



6:00 pm - 8:00 pm


WSP House
70 Chancery Lane
London, WC2A 1AF United Kingdom
+ Google Map
View Venue Website