Paper Competition

Submit a one-page paper of your innovative work or research.

Shortlisted entries will be invited to give a short presentation (10 minutes) at the conference on 12th April 2019, where final judging will take place.

The judging criteria are (with weightings given in brackets):

  • Originality & Innovation (60%)
  • Depth (20%)
  • Clarity and Form of Presentation (20%)

Participants are encouraged to focus on their personal role in the design or subject considered.

Please note that the deadline for entry to the one page paper competition is now closed. Thanks to all those that entered. Papers have been sent across to our Judging Panel (Angus Low, Sunil Johal and Chris Jackson)


28th February 2019             Deadline for submission (Midnight)

25th March 2019                     Shortlisted papers notified

12th April 2019                    Authors of shortlisted papers present at the conference

Prizes at the Conference

Judges Winner £200 Cash Prize

Delegate Vote Winner £100 Cash Prize

Here are a list of all those that entered, thanks so much for your entries. We are pleased to announce our eight Finalists (yes we increased due to the high number of entries) who will present at Future of Design Birmingham on 12th April (in no particular order) are shown in bold below:

George SMART One Ltd
Cindy PROPHET Mott MacDonald
Nicholas KARAKOULLISCundall 
Guillaume LAURENT Eckersley O’Callaghan 
Mark DACKTony Gee and Partners LLP 
Nick W G TRUMP Mott MacDonald 
Fiona WALPORT Imperial College London
Patrick Gittings WSP
Chris BEVINGTONArcadis 
Amy FRANCIS-SMITH Birmingham City University 
Andrew Kelly AECOM 
Charlotte MURPHY Arup
Gavin John MCLACHLANConisbee
Sara PETERS Arcadis 
Victoria TINNEYPrice & Myers 
Robert POWISDesign2e Ltd.
Charlotte YOUE WSP
Michael CHEETHAMMott MacDonald
Simon PopeGlenn Howells Architects 
Jonathan RUSHTON Taylor Woodrow
John FisherGlenn Howells Architects 
Robert FrostickAlan Conisbee & Assoc. 
Shoja JamaliArup
Agnieszka TATARCZAKArup
Manoven Daniel WSP
Luke Gardner Elliot Wood
Will HAWKINS University of Cambridge 
Elliott CONNOLLYWhitby Wood 
James S. BayleyWSP
Aquila Hassan AECOM 
Nyewuna Amadi, Marco
Barresi, Chris Cook, Lewis
Foster-Jeapes, Simon Wilshaw 
Loughborough University  

Go to Event Homepage