The Milne Medal:

The Milne Medal is awarded to an individual engineer for excellence in structural design, both in the overall concept and in the attention to detail in their work, and is named in recognition of the late Bob Milne, who served for many years as the Honorary Secretary of the IABSE British Group. The recipient delivers a lecture, usually in November, at the Institution of Structural Engineers.

Year Recipient Lecture Date Published in The Structural Engineer
2020 Steve Webb Wood, Stone, Moral Calculus and Big Picture Thinking, 10/11/2020
2019 Neil Thomas Why Not?, 12/11/2019
2018 John Parker Unexpected Education, 13/11/2018
2017 Roger Ridsdill Smith A Manifesto for Structural Design, 23/11/2017
2016 James O’Callaghan (Eckersley O’Callaghan) Engineering Clarity, 24/11/2016
2015 Tim Lucas (Price & Myers) Now we have to think, 19/11/2015 Not Published
2013 Kamran Moazami (WSP) Standing Tall- Inspiration and passion in structural engineering, 7/11/2013 Presentation can be viewed online here.
2012 Simon Bourne (ex Benaim/Scott Wilson/URS) Prestressing- Recovery of the Lost Art, 8/11/2012 February 2013
2011 Ed Clark (Arup) Roller Coaster, 3/11/2011 March 2012
2010 Chris Wise (Expedition Engineering) Enough is enough, 18/11/2010 Not Published. Presentation can be viewed online here.
2009 Mike Cook (Buro Happold) Natural Design, 19/11/2009 Not Published
2007 Angus Low (Arup) Designing Bridges, 13/03/2008 06/03/2009
2006 Tristam Carfrae (Arup) Geometry and Structure- The benefit of the Third Dimension, 20/02/2007 20/02/2007
2005 David Tasker (Capita Symmonds) Poised between Levity and Gracity, 26/10/2006 3/10/2006
2004 Stephen Brown (Buro Happold) Millennium and Beyond, 3/11/2005 18/10/2005
2003 Srini Srinivasan (Dar Al Handessah) Design and Construction of modern concrete bridges, 24/06/2004 18/05/2004

Back to Top