IABSE British Group Executive Committee:

The IABSE British Group is headed by three officers, with 23 members forming the executive committee:

Ian Firth


Ian Firth is Chief Operating Officer at COWI. Ian’s areas of expertise are in the design, analysis and assessment of steel and concrete structures, particularly in relation to major bridges and special structures, and the application of new materials. He directs engineering projects, large and small, around the world, and provides specialist advice on long span bridge design, construction and maintenance. He also directs the engineering design and assessment of complex building structures and other projects.

Mark Bulmer

Hon. Secretary

Mark is a Technical Director for AECOM’s major bridges group, where he leads and manages major bridge projects in the UK and overseas.
He started his career working for bridge building contractors before moving to consultant AECOM in 2001; and has been involved in temporary works design, construction engineering, inspection, assessment, and design of large structures, including major bridges. His particular specialism is suspension bridges and he has been involved in over 20 suspension bridges throughout his career.

Martin Kirk

Hon. Treasurer

Martin has been with consultant Arup working for over thirty years on major bridges and other civil engineering works from design inception to construction completion. He was a co-author to IABSE SED14 report on “Sustainable Structural Engineering.”


Executive Committee
Neil Loudon Highways England
David Smith Atkins
Ed Dablin DYSE
Jason Hyde Mott MacDonald
Edmund Metters Buro Happold
Alfredo Cámara-Casado City, University of London
Alison Waterworth AECOM
Fernando Madrazo-Aguirre COWI
David Knight Cake Industries
John Roberts Laing O’Rourke
Katerina Vatti Robert Bird Group
Elina Efthymiou City, University of London
Hector Beade Knight Architects
Brian Duguid Mott Macdonald
Bill Harvey Obvis
Tom Osborne Knight Architects
Tim Burton SH Structures
Nick Fuchs Jacobs
Chris Jackson Arup
Andreas Lampropoulos Brighton University
Konstantinos Kalfas City, University of London
Angus Low Arup
Peter Curran (Membership Secretary) Ramboll

More information on the organisation of IABSE (IABSE.org)

Back to Top